Locate A Branch

Ronald V. Dolan Citizenship Award

The Bank of the James/Ronald V. Dolan Citizenship Award was started in 2006 in memory of one of its founding board members, Ron Dolan. Ron was an accomplished businessman and exemplified good citizenship in everything he did. We honor his memory by asking local schools to select a student who has demonstrated the characteristics that Ron personified.

The award is not a scholarship program. It is an award given to a student from each of the Region 2000 area high schools who possesses the qualities of integrity, trustworthiness and loyalty. Administration and faculty from each of the high schools select their own student to receive this award and then submits the name of their chosen recipient to the bank. The bank is not part of the selection process as the principals, teachers, and guidance counselors know their students and what they have contributed back to the community during their high school years. This award is not based on academic or athletic achievement, but community service and citizenship qualities.

The nominee must be:

  • A Senior attending who has met all qualifications for graduation.
  • Selected by the school’s principal and faculty as having characteristics which make the student stand out among other students at the school.
  • A student who has demonstrated outstanding citizenship qualities that show loyalty, trustworthiness, integrity and a genuine concern for the well-being of others.

Since 2006, over 250 students have been recipients of the Bank of the James/Ronald V. Dolan Awards.

2020 Recipients

Altavista Combined School

Kylee Rachel Pickeral

Amherst County High School

Juwan Jamere Wright

Appomattox County High School

Toni Jacqueline Mauck

Brookville High School

Jordan Marie Bondurant

EC Glass High School

Jadan Malik Merriman

Heritage High School

Skyler J. Anderson

Holy Cross Regional Catholic School

Anna Grace Mooney

Jefferson Forest High School

Anthony James Garcia

Liberty Christian Academy

William Elijah Blanks

Liberty High School

Sydney Eden Dills

Nelson County High School

Enid Barragan-Ortiz

New Covenant School

Kayla Elizabeth Haley

New Vistas School

Brittany Lynn Maddox

Rustburg High School

Kathryn Hope Foster

Staunton River High School

Kayla Jane Snapdragon Li

Temple Christian School

Lora Lynn Osborne

Timberlake Christian Schools

Halley Grace Critcher

Virginia Episcopal School

Joshua Elisha Staggers

William Campbell High School

Ashley Noel Connelly



Congratulations to the class of 2020!